aries spires – the music of jennifer mercede

Song #7 (and bonus track)

Leave a comment

two songs this week! woo-hoo

Week 7 Bonus track:

Thanks to Nico Kwiatkowski for the electronic Raga-like loop 🙂

more info on the bonus track:

Last month I participated in an awesome event called Fun-A-Day, put on by my friend Andy Furgeson. I chose to write a poem a day for the month of January. (It was so cool!)

Through this project I met Nico Kwiatkowski.. whom for his project did 31 brief sound bites which he made into loops. I thought they were interesting/fun/funky and asked if I could get copies of them for inspiration & possible collaboration. He generously said yes!

This one, the instant I heard it, I was brought into Raga singing mode (i’m taking a Raga/ traditional Indian singing class). Raga is created with a beautiful natural instrument called the tamboura. It is by no means electronic, which is one reason I love raga-provising on top of this electronic drone of a sound.

Thanks NICO!!

Leave a Reply

